First Bloem 2023

Tulip Time is pleased to announce the 2023 First Bloem Festival Artwork Competition through which a work of art is selected for the official Tulip Time poster. In addition to the poster, the artwork is used on merchandise to be sold by Tulip Time.

First Bloem invited artists in Ottawa, Allegan, Kent, Muskegon and Kalamazoo counties to submit artwork for the official Festival Artwork Competition and a Viewers' Choice Award. All entries were due September 28, 2022.

Tulip Time's poster program began in 1982. Its long-standing history has produced a beautiful collection representing the festival and the Holland community. The poster is an integral part of Tulip Time and marketability of the artwork will be one of the prime considerations in the selection. Tulip Time reserves the right to alter the artwork for purposes of merchandising.

This year's juror, Margaret Vega, will judge the submitted pieces and select the Top 20. The official Festival Artwork will then be selected from this Top 20 by Tulip Time.

Professor Margaret Vega teaches Undergraduate and Graduate Painting at Kendall College of Art and Design. She has also taught at Academia di Belle Arti in Perugia, Italy and Grand Valley State University. In addition to extensive national and international exhibitions, her work is in private and corporate collections in the US, Canada, Mexico and Europe; She is part of the Permanent Collection of the Grand Rapids Art Museum, Museum of Contemporary Art, San Giovanni Valdarno, IT, Fredrik Meijer Gardens and Sculpture, Grand Rapids, MI and is represented by Dacia Gallery, NYC and Via Design, GR, Ml.
Ms. Vega is Founding Director of SiteStudio, an organization that brings maker experiences to children in within their community, and Children Designing for Children initiative.


Sept. 26-28, 2022     Submission drop off Tulip Time office, 42 W. 8th St. during business hours
Oct. 14, 2022     Top 20 artists notified
Late February 2023     First Bloem Reveal Party (poster winner announced)  Presented by Huntington Bank
May 6-12, 2023     Viewers' Choice Award voting 

After carefully reviewing more than 97 stunning submissions, the Top 20 finalists for 2023 include:

“All are Welkom” by Cidy Bender
“Ready to Reign” by Betsy Buurma-Morton
“Grand Perfection” by John Cowden
“Tulips, Windmills and Mondrian” by Charles Cusack
“Talk of the Town” by Kristin Doversberger
"Tulip Patch" by Patricia Flynn
“Hollandia” by Thea Grigsby
“On a Spring Day” by Carol Hall
“Spring Blooms” by Karen Johnson
“Never Too Many” by Karen Johnson
“It’s Tulip Time!” by Steve Leary
“Tulip Daydream” by Andrea Rich
“Twee Landen, een Geest” by Lori Rivera
"Tulip Treasures" by Anne Rivers
"Evening Tulips” by Conni Schaftenaar
"Tulip Maze" by Michael Stewart
“Blended Colors of Spring” by Carolyn Stitch
“In the Round” by Sandy Swartzentruber
“Time to Celebrate” by Dian Taylor
"Let’s Dance" by Sally Yugovich

Supported by