Tulip Time Announces New Board Members for 2024 Festival Year

HOLLAND, Mich. – September 27, 2023

Tulip Time Festival, Inc. welcomes Chih-Hsuan (Sandy) Pierce of BASF and Scott Stenstrom of Fifth Third Bank to the non-profit's board of directors for terms beginning in October of 2023.

Pierce, a Territory Manager for BASF, is committed to being a humble servant of her community. She has previously served on the board of Good Samaritan Ministries and currently serves as the Chair for Women in Recycling for the Institute of Scrap and Recycling Industries). She also volunteers for her church and as a Victim Service Advcoate for the Ottawa County Sherrif's Department.

"Tulip Time is one of my daughter’s and my favorite events because the bright tulips and all the visitors bring joy to our community," say Pierce "It's incredible to see what we as a community can accomplish when we all work together. The event makes me proud and reminds me how truly blessed we are as residents of Holland."

Stenstrom serves as the Vice President, Marketing and Communications Director for Fifth Third Bank. He has been with the bank for 28 years and is responsible for communication, events, and sponsorships in the West Michigan region. Stenstrom's board experience includes serving as the Race Director for the Fifth Third River Bank Run, a Committee Member for Downtown Grand Rapids Inc., and the Parent's Council for Hope College.

Stenstrom shared, “Festivals like Tulip Time are what makes the lakeshore such a great destination spot to visitors from around the world. I’ve enjoyed Tulip Time from the curb as a young boy, to dressing in my Dutch costume for a parade! I look forward to joining this great team.”

Gwen Auwerda, Executive Director for Tulip Time appreciates the additions, “We are so lucky to have two incredibly community-minded and capable people joining our board this year. Sandy and Scott have been involved in the festival in years past and we are so excited to have them helping us raise the bar on this already magnificent festival!” Auwerda says of the new board members.

Pierce and Stenstrom join current board members Rosemary Ervine, Past Chair; Mark Dykema of BIGGBY Coffee, Chairperson; Duncan Bocks of Miller Knoll, First Vice Chair; Darcy Fluharty, Second Vice Chair; Sarah Phillips of DeBoer Baumann & Co., Treasurer; and directors Jodi Owczarski of Michigan West Coast Chamber, Bill Badran of Holland Board of Public Works, Linda Hart of Holland Convention & Visitors’ Bureau, Matt Helmus of Windmill Island Gardens, Andy Kenyon of the City of Holland, and Iliana Vasquez-Ocha of Holland Language Academy.

Experience Tulip Time’s Bikes & Blooms at the 95th Festival, May 4 – 12, 2024. Detailed program and event information for Tulip Time Festival 2024 and tickets are available at www.TulipTime.com.


Chih-Hsuan (Sandy) Pierce


Scott Stenstrom